PhD of the year

Tuesday 06 Apr 10

To meet societal demands for not only good engineers with a solid education but also for engineers with a research background, DTU Byg is focusing on its PhD programme.  To highlight this effort Byg has decided to appoint and celebrate ‘PhD of the year at DTU Byg’, an award for an outstanding Phd thesis. The award is given for the first time this year and becomes a yearly initiative.


Potential candidates this year are PhD students that have defended their thesis during 2009.  A panel, comprising the acting Head of Department Henrik Stang, the PhD@Byg Deputy Manager Hans Janssen and Byg’s Ph.d. Udvalg member Sigurdur Ormarsson, has reviewed their Examinars’ Recommendations and PhD thesis manuscripts.


Based on those, the “PhD of the year at DTU Byg” for 2009 is proudly awarded to Assistant Professor Jens Henrik Nielsen for his thesis “Tempered glass – bolted connections and related problems”.  In his thesis, Jens aimed at assessing the load capacity of pinned joints in tempered glass used for structural purposes. 


The thesis examiners commended Jens Henrik Nielsen’s thesis for “the high scientific quality of the work, combining novel experimental techniques with advanced numerical modelling.”  Three-dimensional finite-element simulations were performed and validated by an experimental study applying Aramis and high speed cameras.  The examiners moreover applauded the research production resulting from Jens Henrik Nielsen’s thesis: “Four papers are submitted to international journals”, three of which have already been published.  They explicitly stated that these will significantly impact real-world applications and academic research.  The thesis, finally, is well written, with figures and tables of high quality.


For all these reasons, Jens Henrik Nielsen is “PhD of the year at DTU Byg” for 2009.

News and filters

Get updated on news that match your filter.